Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2011-184

Ottawa, 14 March 2011

Over-the-air television service in Whitehorse, Yellowknife and Iqaluit

1. In Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2010-167, the Commission set out a list of markets designated for mandatory conversion to digital television. These markets include the National Capital Region and all provincial and territorial capital cities, as well as markets either served by multiple originating stations, including Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) stations, or with populations greater than 300,000.

2. Since the publication of Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2010-167, broadcasters have filed their plans for digital conversion in mandatory markets. Given that the continued operation of analog transmitters in Whitehorse and Yellowknife would not be permitted beyond 31 August 2011, broadcasters intend to shut down five of the six television transmitters in those markets. Only the CBC transmitter in Yellowknife would remain in operation and that transmitter would be converted to digital.

3. The Commission notes that the transmitters in Whitehorse and Yellowknife are located in small and remote markets, that they do not operate on channels 52 to 69 and that their continued operation would have no impact on television stations in adjacent markets. The Commission further notes that there are no full-power over-the-air analog television transmitters operating in Iqaluit that would be subject to mandatory conversion to digital.

4. The Commission is therefore of the view that it is no longer appropriate to include the territorial capitals Whitehorse, Yukon, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories and Iqaluit, Nunavut on the list of markets designated for mandatory conversion to digital television.